chromiumos/platform/modem-utilities.git
12 months agoAdd 'modem ussd' commands. 12/63312/2 factory-4455.B factory-pit-4471.B firmware-pit-4482.B master release-R30-4537.B stabilize-4512.B
Ben Chan [Thu, 25 Jul 2013 01:44:45 +0000 (18:44 -0700)]
Add 'modem ussd' commands.

This CL adds the following modem commands for modems supported by
ModemManager, which are exposed via crosh:

  modem ussd status             - Show the status of any ongoing USSD session
  modem ussd initiate <command> - Initiate a USSD session
  modem ussd respond <response> - Respond to a USSD request
  modme ussd cancel             - Cancel any ongoing USSD session

BUG=chromium:258403
TEST=Tested the crosh commands below with a Y3400 modem connected to T-Mobile:

  modem ussd
  modem ussd status
  modem ussd initiate
  modem ussd initiate #686#
  modem ussd respond
  modem ussd cancel
  modem ussd bogus-command

Change-Id: I92e0cee193d5c2f383394644d9954df85a204d18
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/63312
Reviewed-by: Arman Uguray <armansito@chromium.org>
Commit-Queue: Ben Chan <benchan@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Ben Chan <benchan@chromium.org>
16 months agoRun the AT modem commands through debugd. 20/44420/4 factory-4128.B factory-4290.B factory-pit-4280.B factory-pit-4390.B factory-spring-3842.B factory-spring-4131.B factory-spring-4262.B firmware-falco_peppy-4389.B firmware-leon-4389.26.B firmware-spring-3824.4.B firmware-spring-3824.55.B firmware-spring-3824.84.B firmware-spring-3824.B firmware-spring-3833.B firmware-wolf-4389.24.B release-R27-3912.B release-R28-4100.B release-R29-4319.B stabilize-3881.0.B stabilize-3912.79.B stabilize-4008.0.B stabilize-4035.0.B stabilize-4068.0.B stabilize-4100.38.B stabilize-4255.B stabilize-4287.B stabilize-4443.B stabilize-spring-4100.53.B toolchainA toolchainB
Darin Petkov [Fri, 1 Mar 2013 22:13:57 +0000 (23:13 +0100)]
Run the AT modem commands through debugd.

This is necessary because communication with the serial interface
needs root access.

BUG=chrome-os-partner:17809
TEST=tested by issuing the relevant 'modem' commands in crosh
CQ-DEPEND=Iecea0ab5aeb2907ae463fe9a6f1aa83b5632091a

Change-Id: Ic43069080726d62447d5b8d41790ec5340639faa
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/44420
Tested-by: Darin Petkov <petkov@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Elly Jones <ellyjones@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Jorge Lucangeli Obes <jorgelo@chromium.org>
Commit-Queue: Darin Petkov <petkov@chromium.org>

18 months agoMask Name properties in feedback reports. 11/41011/2 factory-3536.B stabilize-3658.0.0 stabilize-3701.30.0 stabilize-3701.30.0b stabilize-bluetooth-smart toolchain-3701.42.B
Darin Petkov [Thu, 10 Jan 2013 11:13:25 +0000 (12:13 +0100)]
Mask Name properties in feedback reports.

Mask Name properties because it might contain PII-sensitive
information such as SSID.

BUG=chromium-os:37752
TEST=connectivity show-feedback services

Change-Id: Ibbd3aed5f9603081e46c6349f2211ec959895ff8
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/41011
Tested-by: Darin Petkov <petkov@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Ben Chan <benchan@chromium.org>
Commit-Queue: Darin Petkov <petkov@chromium.org>

22 months agoUpdate OWNERS file. factory-2914.B factory-2985.B factory-2993.B factory-3004.B release-R23-2913.B stabilize stabilize-daisy stabilize-link stabilize-link-2913.278 stabilize2 toolchain-3428.65.B
Ben Chan [Thu, 13 Sep 2012 21:59:32 +0000 (14:59 -0700)]
Update OWNERS file.

BUG=None
TEST=None

Change-Id: I78702e57374d6171c742e77eef8794abb9ff0734
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/33232
Commit-Ready: Ben Chan <benchan@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Ben Chan <benchan@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Thieu Le <thieule@chromium.org>
22 months agoAdd 'modem set-logging' command.
Ben Chan [Wed, 12 Sep 2012 04:52:05 +0000 (21:52 -0700)]
Add 'modem set-logging' command.

The 'modem set-logging' command replaces 'mm_debug' for setting logging
level in modem managers.

BUG=chromium-os:34360
TEST=Tested 'modem set-logging' with cromo and ModemManager.

Change-Id: I11c68eb36d602f5ff1fd5e06418e824b56d33fb7
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/33114
Commit-Ready: Ben Chan <benchan@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Ben Chan <benchan@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Thieu Le <thieule@chromium.org>
22 months agoAdd 'modem reset' command.
Ben Chan [Wed, 12 Sep 2012 02:00:46 +0000 (19:00 -0700)]
Add 'modem reset' command.

BUG=chromium-os:34348
TEST=Tested 'modem reset' with supported modems.

Change-Id: I92085e107db2b0fb076dfd3eabd548379888d1e7
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/33040
Commit-Ready: Ben Chan <benchan@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Ben Chan <benchan@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Thieu Le <thieule@chromium.org>
22 months agomodem-utilities: Add some AT commands to allow diagnostics.
Darin Petkov [Fri, 7 Sep 2012 08:47:28 +0000 (10:47 +0200)]
modem-utilities: Add some AT commands to allow diagnostics.

BUG=chrome-os-partner:11450
TEST=modem <new-command> from crosh, modem help

Change-Id: I5f9df8208df04e05b028cac72fb7ff0b44c09b10
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/32529
Tested-by: Darin Petkov <petkov@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Ben Chan <benchan@chromium.org>
Commit-Ready: Darin Petkov <petkov@chromium.org>

23 months agoClean up connectivity script. factory-2717.B factory-2723.14.B factory-2846.B factory-2848.B firmware-butterfly-2788.B firmware-stout-2817.B release-R22-2723.B
Ben Chan [Thu, 2 Aug 2012 21:53:47 +0000 (14:53 -0700)]
Clean up connectivity script.

This CL cleans up the 'connectivity' script. It also adds 'connectivity
show-feedback', which is similar to 'connectivity show' but tailors
output for feedback reports.

BUG=chromium-os:33198
TEST=Tested the following commands:
1. `connectivity show devices`
2. `connectivity show devices -filter eth0`
3. `connectivity show services`
4. `connectivity show-feedback devices`
5. `connectivity show-feedback services`

Change-Id: If3ac702bfb733b7264c3bde58e9cdffe334fbd4a
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/29106
Reviewed-by: Thieu Le <thieule@chromium.org>
Commit-Ready: Ben Chan <benchan@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Ben Chan <benchan@chromium.org>
23 months agoFix modem commands to work with ModemManager1.
Ben Chan [Sat, 28 Jul 2012 00:13:46 +0000 (17:13 -0700)]
Fix modem commands to work with ModemManager1.

This CL modifies the modem script to work with modems managed by both
cromo and ModemManager1.

BUG=chromium-os:33140,chromium-os:33158
TEST=Test modem commands on modems managed by cromo and ModemManager1.

Change-Id: I5607364bc191e3f6ca4482a3b3bf6fcb6fd99bfd
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/28964
Reviewed-by: Thieu Le <thieule@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Ben Chan <benchan@chromium.org>
Commit-Ready: Ben Chan <benchan@chromium.org>

23 months agoNew 'modem status' implementation for cromo and ModemManager1. firmware-link-2695.2.B firmware-link-2695.B firmware-parrot-2685.B firmware-snow-2695.90.B firmware-snow-2695.B
Ben Chan [Thu, 26 Jul 2012 22:03:05 +0000 (15:03 -0700)]
New 'modem status' implementation for cromo and ModemManager1.

This CL provides a new implementation of 'modem status' that handles
both cromo and ModemManager1, and supercedes the mm-status script. It
also adds 'modem status-feedback', which is similar to 'modem status'
but tailors output for feedback reports.

BUG=chromium-os:29159
TEST=Test `modem status` and `modem status -d` with modems supported by
cromo and ModemManager1.

Change-Id: I9f51b493c80e07611855b528ca6de230dfeac3d4
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/28551
Tested-by: Ben Chan <benchan@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Thieu Le <thieule@chromium.org>
Commit-Ready: Ben Chan <benchan@chromium.org>

2 years ago[modem-utilities] add OWNERS factory-1987.B factory-2268.16.B factory-2305.B factory-2338.B factory-2368.B factory-2394.B factory-2460.B factory-2475.B factory-2569.B firmware-link-2348.B release-R19-2046.B release-R20-2268.B
Elly Jones [Thu, 23 Feb 2012 20:15:41 +0000 (15:15 -0500)]
[modem-utilities] add OWNERS

BUG=chromium-os:22007
TEST=None

Change-Id: I6c9da09cb9ba35b038f37fc80f6ff0f3ad218b96
Signed-off-by: Elly Jones <ellyjones@chromium.org>
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/16511
Reviewed-by: Nathan J. Williams <njw@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Jason Glasgow <jglasgow@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: ttuttle <ttuttle@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Eric Shienbrood <ers@chromium.org>
2 years agomodem: Use "$(...)" instead of `...` in set_madison_config factory-1284.B factory-1412.B firmware-kiev-2.112.B firmware-uboot_v2-1299.B release-R17-1412.B release-R18-1660.B
ttuttle [Tue, 1 Nov 2011 20:43:05 +0000 (16:43 -0400)]
modem: Use "$(...)" instead of `...` in set_madison_config

This deals properly with symlinks to filenames with spaces,
and adheres to our style guidelines.

BUG=chromium-os:22117
TEST=Adhoc; works if /var/lib/cromo symlinked to /tmp/foo\ bar

Change-Id: I1fff7d8b448cf940f90097eb7397a28b177fb53d
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/10990
Reviewed-by: Richard Barnette <jrbarnette@chromium.org>
Tested-by: ttuttle <ttuttle@chromium.org>
2 years agomodem: Use readlink -f instead of realpath for set-madison-config
ttuttle [Mon, 31 Oct 2011 18:31:21 +0000 (14:31 -0400)]
modem: Use readlink -f instead of realpath for set-madison-config

readlink is provided by coreutils, while realpath is in a separate package.

BUG=chromium-os:22117
TEST=Adhoc; modem set-madison-config still detects symlinks

Change-Id: I561967379e7bcd41fbe97935683bc171ace598a6
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/10906
Reviewed-by: Richard Barnette <jrbarnette@chromium.org>
Tested-by: ttuttle <ttuttle@chromium.org>
2 years agomodem: Properly check for symlink hairiness.
ttuttle [Wed, 26 Oct 2011 21:55:24 +0000 (17:55 -0400)]
modem: Properly check for symlink hairiness.

cromo's init script tries to make sure the config group file exists and is
safe to write, but we should double-check before we write it that it really
points to the right place.

BUG=chromium-os:22117
TEST=Adhoc; properly rejects symlinks

Change-Id: I6b2f6b9a142611f3f376653bc25d0e98cde78572
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/10748
Reviewed-by: Jim Hebert <jimhebert@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: ttuttle <ttuttle@chromium.org>
Tested-by: ttuttle <ttuttle@chromium.org>
2 years agoPrint warning before factory reset factory-1235.B
Jason Glasgow [Tue, 18 Oct 2011 18:13:48 +0000 (14:13 -0400)]
Print warning before factory reset

Print a big warning before factory resetting the modem.  Prompt the
user "continue: [n]", so that the user has a chance to abort the
operation.

BUG=chrome-os-partner:3555
TEST=try out the modem factory-reset command

Change-Id: Ia96a9423b4abe9a8a41330c99b720c270d8435a0
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/10232
Commit-Ready: Jason Glasgow <jglasgow@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Jason Glasgow <jglasgow@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Nathan J. Williams <njw@chromium.org>
2 years agomodem: Add set_madison_config command.
ttuttle [Thu, 13 Oct 2011 17:40:21 +0000 (13:40 -0400)]
modem: Add set_madison_config command.

Add a command to set the contents of /var/cache/cromo/madison-config-group.
This lets users toggle between the old and new Verizon portals.

BUG=chromium-os:21589
TEST=Adhoc, sets the file

Change-Id: I1450ca9450d1ee0139e91a981e4f5925a202ca45
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/10044
Reviewed-by: Jason Glasgow <jglasgow@chromium.org>
Tested-by: ttuttle <ttuttle@chromium.org>
Commit-Ready: ttuttle <ttuttle@chromium.org>

2 years agoPrevent spurious failures on 3G manual activation.
Jason Glasgow [Mon, 9 May 2011 21:59:55 +0000 (17:59 -0400)]
Prevent spurious failures on 3G manual activation.

Do not print "Failed" when doing manual activation if the mdn has been
updated.

BUG=chrome-os-partner:3555
TEST=ask Verizon to setup an account for manual activation, get mdn, min and system id.  From crosh use the modem commands: factory-reset, manual-activate, activate

Change-Id: I2828823331be2a0723dccd207b5d8546823ac919
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/7820
Reviewed-by: Nathan J. Williams <njw@chromium.org>
Commit-Ready: Jason Glasgow <jglasgow@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Jason Glasgow <jglasgow@chromium.org>
2 years agomodem set-carrier: Use all remaining args for carrier name. factory-1020.B factory-980.B release-1011.B test-982.B
Nathan Williams [Wed, 17 Aug 2011 14:53:13 +0000 (10:53 -0400)]
modem set-carrier: Use all remaining args for carrier name.

Use "$*" for the carrier name instead of using the needarg function,
so that we grab all remaining command-line arguments as the carrier
name. This prevents users from having to quote names like "Generic
UMTS", and allows running this from crosh, which doesn't support any
quoting.

BUG=chromium-os:19214
TEST=Run "modem set-carrier Generic UMTS" from crosh

Change-Id: Ifee1bbefd9121e1fed08c8a4745132e0ce343ba7
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/6156
Reviewed-by: Jason Glasgow <jglasgow@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Eric Shienbrood <ers@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Nathan J. Williams <njw@chromium.org>
3 years agoAdd set-carrier command to modem script, with error checking. 0.14.811.B 0.15.877.B 780.B firmware-881-u-boot-v1 firmware-u-boot-v1
Nathan Williams [Mon, 11 Jul 2011 20:50:57 +0000 (16:50 -0400)]
Add set-carrier command to modem script, with error checking.

Pull in the modemmanagers() function along the way.
(adapted from the flimflam mm.sh)

BUG=chromium-os:15089
TEST="modem set-carrier 'Generic UMTS'"

Change-Id: Ib7bbe8d84aeb7801621c11a8854c32f246753f2a
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/3888
Tested-by: Nathan J. Williams <njw@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Jason Glasgow <jglasgow@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Eric Shienbrood <ers@chromium.org>
3 years agoAdd "connectivity" command that should start to replace tools in
David Rochberg [Thu, 30 Jun 2011 21:16:07 +0000 (17:16 -0400)]
Add "connectivity" command that should start to replace tools in
flimflam/tests.

Despite having spent time on this, I'm not at all convinced it's the
right way to go; something written in a real programming language may
be called for.

TEST=manual
BUG=chromium-os:17155,chromium-os:14628

Change-Id: Idfa91c7570aec55c56935c8fccc2e42c73870d1f
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/3498
Tested-by: David Rochberg <rochberg@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Jason Glasgow <jglasgow@chromium.org>
3 years agoTurn off tab checks
David Rochberg [Thu, 30 Jun 2011 22:19:23 +0000 (18:19 -0400)]
Turn off tab checks

This code came with tabs

BUG=NONE
TEST=repo upload

Change-Id: I96f1a1b6921547ec9c7e4b7dab6d1add44fecf53
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/3539
Tested-by: David Rochberg <rochberg@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Elly Jones <ellyjones@chromium.org>
3 years agoUse mktemp to avoid following symlinks, fix permissions
Jason Glasgow [Tue, 28 Jun 2011 17:27:55 +0000 (13:27 -0400)]
Use mktemp to avoid following symlinks, fix permissions

Use mktemp to avoid following symlinks that might allow the user
running 'modem update-prl' to write arbitrary files.  Also ensure that
the permissions on the file created in the temporary directory are set
such that all users can read the file.

BUG=chromium-os:17020
TEST=cp /usr/share/prl/madison.prl ~ ; chmod 600 ~/madison.prl ; modem update-prl ~/madison.prl ; ls -l /tmp/prl*

Change-Id: I59cadbe04c022f5c81012d709c36050667dcdc17
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/3310
Reviewed-by: Eric Shienbrood <ers@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Jason Glasgow <jglasgow@chromium.org>
3 years agoMove modem command to the modem-utilities repository 0.11.241.B 0.11.257.B90 0.12.362.B 0.12.369.B 0.12.392.B 0.12.433.B 0.12.433.B109 0.12.433.B62 0.13.434.B 0.13.509.B 0.13.558.B 0.13.587.B 11.1.241.B
Jason Glasgow [Thu, 31 Mar 2011 22:01:56 +0000 (18:01 -0400)]
Move modem command to the modem-utilities repository

See also http://codereview.chromium.org/6780027/

BUG=chrome-os-partner:2985
TEST=build modem-utilities & gobi-cromo-plugin.  Verify modem command in crosh

Review URL: http://codereview.chromium.org/6728027

Change-Id: Ica0b000fbd259b2e7774843929e65a64db50e6ba

3 years agoInitaliazing repo with a LICENSE file.
Dave Parker [Wed, 30 Mar 2011 00:51:36 +0000 (17:51 -0700)]
Initaliazing repo with a LICENSE file.