chromiumos/platform/salsa.git
14 months agoAdd support for Chrome-gesture experiment 03/62503/2 factory-4455.B factory-pit-4471.B firmware-pit-4482.B master release-R30-4537.B stabilize-4443.B stabilize-4512.B
Charlie Mooney [Thu, 18 Jul 2013 18:51:49 +0000 (11:51 -0700)]
Add support for Chrome-gesture experiment

Previously, Salsa only supported experiments that worked by changing the
xinput parameters using the commandline tool in Crosh.  I've added a
similar tool for chromeOS located within the browser at chrome://salsa
now and it takes in the same encoded strings, but changes the values of
Chrome Gesture Preferences instead.

This patch adds the UI for selecting which type of experiment you want
to create when you're making new experiments and changes the
participant's page depending on which type it is.

eg: if you selected chrome-gestures when you created an experiment, your
participants will be given slightly different instructions.

BUG=chromium:249762
TEST=manually run with dev server on my local machine at
cmooney.mtv:8081

Change-Id: I8aecc3499b13adf835d24f0dbb7820bbfc02f2b0
Signed-off-by: Charlie Mooney <charliemooney@chromium.org>
18 months agoMerge "Salsa: Cleaning up the instructions" factory-4128.B factory-4290.B factory-pit-4280.B factory-pit-4390.B factory-spring-4131.B factory-spring-4262.B firmware-falco_peppy-4389.B firmware-leon-4389.26.B firmware-wolf-4389.24.B release-R27-3912.B release-R28-4100.B release-R29-4319.B stabilize-3881.0.B stabilize-3912.79.B stabilize-4008.0.B stabilize-4035.0.B stabilize-4068.0.B stabilize-4100.38.B stabilize-4255.B stabilize-4287.B stabilize-spring-4100.53.B toolchainA toolchainB
ChromeBot [Mon, 18 Mar 2013 20:34:34 +0000 (13:34 -0700)]
Merge "Salsa: Cleaning up the instructions"

18 months agoMerge "Salsa: Add better controls to try_touch_experiment"
ChromeBot [Mon, 18 Mar 2013 20:34:31 +0000 (13:34 -0700)]
Merge "Salsa: Add better controls to try_touch_experiment"

18 months agoSalsa: Cleaning up the instructions 05/45605/2
Charlie Mooney [Fri, 15 Mar 2013 16:33:02 +0000 (09:33 -0700)]
Salsa: Cleaning up the instructions

The instructions for participants was really verbose and the
wall-of-text approach is pretty bad.  This strips out a lot of the
unneeded text and information, and rearranges some of the UI elements to
hopefully make it less intimidating and easier to use

BUG=chromium:187154
TEST=manually tested using dev server

Change-Id: I7b87ea960cd5ee5cfe190cfe16b43d8efcd2a7fc
Signed-off-by: Charlie Mooney <charliemooney@chromium.org>
18 months agoSalsa: Add better controls to try_touch_experiment 22/45622/3
Charlie Mooney [Fri, 15 Mar 2013 21:17:44 +0000 (14:17 -0700)]
Salsa: Add better controls to try_touch_experiment

The controls were rather clunky on the treatment switcher.  Especially
when there were only 2 treatments it felt weird reaching for 0 and 1
since they're so far away from eachother.  This adds arrow key support
so you can "scroll" through the treatments.  It also changes the way it
displays some of the information to the user to make it easier to read
and generally interact with.

The display now looks like this:
 ---------------------------------------------------------
 |                _____       _                            |
 |               / ____|     | |                           |
 |              | (___   __ _| |___  __ _                  |
 |               \___ \ / _` | / __|/ _` |                 |
 |               ____) | (_| | \__ \ (_| |                 |
 |              |_____/ \__,_|_|___/\__,_|                 |
 |                                                         |
 |                                ###                      |
 | Selected Treatment:   0    1  # 2 #                     |
 |                                ###                      |
 |                                                         |
 | Commands:                                               |
 |     Arrow keys  -- Change selected treatment            |
 |     Number keys -- Jump to a treatment                  |
 |     q          -- Quit and restore your old settings    |
 |                                                         |
 |           Thank you for your participation!             |
 |                                                         |
 |      Note: Treatments are ordered randomly, so there    |
 |      is no special significance to their labels.        |
 |                                                         |
  ---------------------------------------------------------

BUG=chromium:186589
TEST=manually gmerged on a lumpy and it worked there

Change-Id: Iaefb662ca7659feeab623f4f1435776631614a78
Signed-off-by: Charlie Mooney <charliemooney@chromium.org>
18 months agoSalsa: Use radio buttons for 2-treatment exps 07/45607/1
Charlie Mooney [Fri, 15 Mar 2013 16:46:32 +0000 (09:46 -0700)]
Salsa: Use radio buttons for 2-treatment exps

For experiments with only two treatments, it's silly to have the
additional complecation of a stack-rank mechanism.  There are only three
options for them:
 * Treatment 0 is better
 * Treatment 1 is better
 * They are the same
So for the sake of simplicity, just using radio buttons to pick between
them is better.  The users already know how they work and don't have to
think about it.

This patch checks how many treatments there are when the participant
goes to the page and either serves them the full stack-rank system or
the simplified radio-button ranking.

BUG=chromium:187154
TEST=manually run using a dev server

Change-Id: Ibc499fa107632256e65ae0a859aaf675439e7e4a
Signed-off-by: Charlie Mooney <charliemooney@chromium.org>
18 months agoSalsa: Add a note about Treatment numbering 10/45210/1 factory-spring-3842.B firmware-spring-3833.B
Charlie Mooney [Tue, 12 Mar 2013 15:31:36 +0000 (08:31 -0700)]
Salsa: Add a note about Treatment numbering

This just adds a little note about how treatments are numbered to try to
prevent any confusion for participants

BUG=chromium-os:186589
TEST=manually run with a dev server

Change-Id: I803aedbfc2aac84872b3ea503d9aa9c6e16f7c44
Signed-off-by: Charlie Mooney <charliemooney@chromium.org>
18 months agoMerge "Salsa: Adding back in the instruction field"
ChromeBot [Mon, 11 Mar 2013 22:34:28 +0000 (15:34 -0700)]
Merge "Salsa: Adding back in the instruction field"

18 months agoclean up makefile a bit 44/44944/1 firmware-spring-3824.4.B firmware-spring-3824.55.B firmware-spring-3824.84.B firmware-spring-3824.B
Mike Frysinger [Fri, 8 Mar 2013 19:08:37 +0000 (14:08 -0500)]
clean up makefile a bit

Random fixes:
 - drop -fPIC as that is for shared library code, not applications
 - move -D/-I paths out of CXXFLAGS and into CPPFLAGS
 - add -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE to go with -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64
 - add the pkg-config's CPPFLAGS to CPPFLAGS
 - rename LINK_FLAGS to LDLIBS
 - simplify redundant output dir logic
 - respect LDFLAGS when linking
 - respect CPPFLAGS when compiling

BUG=None
TEST=`make` still worked

Change-Id: I492e0fac09bbd908f53ec1becad25570b40ffa0d

18 months agoSalsa: Adding back in the instruction field 33/44933/2
Charlie Mooney [Fri, 8 Mar 2013 17:04:30 +0000 (09:04 -0800)]
Salsa: Adding back in the instruction field

The "instructions" custom field was accidentally ommited from the
participant's view of an experiment.  This CL just adds it back in

BUG=chromium-os:39736
TEST=Ran on a dev-server and it works

Change-Id: I96f3d15d93c9f023ad767a93aa1ae733115d54f5
Signed-off-by: Charlie Mooney <charliemooney@chromium.org>
18 months agoinit repo 62/44562/1
Charlie Mooney [Mon, 4 Mar 2013 21:49:13 +0000 (13:49 -0800)]
init repo

Adding contents from platform/gestures/salsa