chromiumos/third_party/ktop.git
18 months agoktop now drains the ring buffer 75/42675/2 factory-4128.B factory-4290.B factory-4455.B factory-pit-4280.B factory-pit-4390.B factory-pit-4471.B factory-spring-3842.B factory-spring-4131.B factory-spring-4262.B firmware-falco_peppy-4389.B firmware-leon-4389.26.B firmware-pit-4482.B firmware-spring-3824.4.B firmware-spring-3824.55.B firmware-spring-3824.84.B firmware-spring-3824.B firmware-wolf-4389.24.B master release-R26-3701.B release-R27-3912.B release-R28-4100.B release-R29-4319.B release-R30-4537.B stabilize-3701.30.0 stabilize-3701.30.0b stabilize-3701.46.B stabilize-3701.81.B stabilize-3881.0.B stabilize-3912.79.B stabilize-4008.0.B stabilize-4035.0.B stabilize-4068.0.B stabilize-4100.38.B stabilize-4255.B stabilize-4287.B stabilize-4443.B stabilize-4512.B stabilize-spring-4100.53.B toolchain-3701.42.B toolchainA toolchainB
Paul Taysom [Wed, 6 Feb 2013 01:10:46 +0000 (17:10 -0800)]
ktop now drains the ring buffer

Before beginning to collect data, ktop now drains the per cpu ring buffers.
Also fixed a couple of problems in dumping the ring buffers while testing.

BUG=chromium-os:38503
TEST=ran on stumpy

Change-Id: I3fce487ce4dab6df1f1ff34d1b401ba2d258472d
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/42675
Tested-by: Paul Taysom <taysom@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Luigi Semenzato <semenzato@chromium.org>
Commit-Queue: Paul Taysom <taysom@chromium.org>

18 months agoktop should verify size of commits 74/42474/4 stabilize-bluetooth-smart
Paul Taysom [Fri, 1 Feb 2013 22:16:53 +0000 (14:16 -0800)]
ktop should verify size of commits

ktop gets from the kernel how many bytes of data are in the records
it just read. It needs to check this number.

Sometime, the commit field has 0xffffffffc0000000 added to it.
Not sure what it means, but just taking the lower bits seems to
work well. I've filed a defect to further expore what this big
number means.

BUG=chromium-os:38502
TEST=ran ktop, checked for bad values

Change-Id: I4243e99aca6722fb6aa6695191ecbca9d3eef562
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/42474
Reviewed-by: Luigi Semenzato <semenzato@chromium.org>
Commit-Queue: Paul Taysom <taysom@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Paul Taysom <taysom@chromium.org>
2 years agoAdded simple logging capability factory-1987.B factory-2268.16.B factory-2305.B factory-2338.B factory-2368.B factory-2394.B factory-2460.B factory-2475.B factory-2569.B factory-2717.B factory-2723.14.B factory-2846.B factory-2848.B factory-2914.B factory-2985.B factory-2993.B factory-3004.B factory-3536.B firmware-butterfly-2788.B firmware-link-2348.B firmware-link-2695.2.B firmware-link-2695.B firmware-parrot-2685.B firmware-snow-2695.90.B firmware-snow-2695.B firmware-stout-2817.B release-R19-2046.B release-R20-2268.B release-R21-2465.B release-R22-2723.B release-R23-2913.B release-R25-3428.B stabilize stabilize-3428.110.0 stabilize-3428.149 stabilize-3428.149.B stabilize-3428.193 stabilize-3658.0.0 stabilize-daisy stabilize-link stabilize-link-2913.278 stabilize2 toolchain-3428.65.B
Paul Taysom [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 23:43:09 +0000 (15:43 -0800)]
Added simple logging capability

BUG=chromium-os:25959
TEST=ran on stumpy

Change-Id: I17547aa43172f62c85bed44d39886d18596050b0
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/15542
Commit-Ready: Paul Taysom <taysom@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Paul Taysom <taysom@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Paul Taysom <taysom@chromium.org>
2 years agoFixed display of process name.
Paul Taysom [Wed, 8 Feb 2012 00:17:16 +0000 (16:17 -0800)]
Fixed display of process name.

In preperation for adding loggin to ktop, I've cleaned up finding
the process name.

BUG=chromium-os:25959
TEST=ran on stumpy

Change-Id: Iaa433e201dd2b479bbd6a736bd037a60a819dcf9
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/15458
Tested-by: Paul Taysom <taysom@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Luigi Semenzato <semenzato@chromium.org>
Commit-Ready: Paul Taysom <taysom@chromium.org>

2 years agoAdded summary data to ktop release-R18-1660.B
Paul Taysom [Tue, 13 Dec 2011 23:17:15 +0000 (15:17 -0800)]
Added summary data to ktop

ktop now keeps the average and max values for counts in
an interval and duration of system calls.

BUG=chromium-os:25168
TEST=ran on amd64-generic and built for x86-alex

Change-Id: Ibe4b5638619ff6704dce5ae0ccf872ed0061866e
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/12872
Tested-by: Paul Taysom <taysom@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Luigi Semenzato <semenzato@chromium.org>
Commit-Ready: Paul Taysom <taysom@google.com>

2 years agoDisplay correct name for system calls for 64 bit factory-1412.B release-R17-1412.B
Paul Taysom [Mon, 14 Nov 2011 21:12:33 +0000 (13:12 -0800)]
Display correct name for system calls for 64 bit

Added generation of syscall list using awk.

BUG=chromium-os:22888
TEST=ran on 32 and 64 bit machines.

Change-Id: Ie52471fb22cbee164943982c0fda97f24665b287
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/11634
Reviewed-by: Luigi Semenzato <semenzato@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Paul Taysom <taysom@google.com>
Commit-Ready: Paul Taysom <taysom@google.com>

2 years agoAdded per screen help to ktop firmware-kiev-2.112.B firmware-uboot_v2-1299.B
Paul Taysom [Tue, 8 Nov 2011 00:05:46 +0000 (16:05 -0800)]
Added per screen help to ktop

BUG=chromium-os:22607
TEST=x86-64, x86-32, compiled for arm

Change-Id: I87798f8065a61f3d32e03d4715ccd11a4fcd42d5
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/11290
Reviewed-by: Luigi Semenzato <semenzato@chromium.org>
Commit-Ready: Paul Taysom <taysom@google.com>
Tested-by: Paul Taysom <taysom@google.com>
2 years agoFixed ktop to work on 64 bit Linux factory-1284.B
Paul Taysom [Thu, 3 Nov 2011 17:57:57 +0000 (10:57 -0700)]
Fixed ktop to work on 64 bit Linux

BUG=chromium-os:20990
TEST=on 64 bit x86 and 32 bit x86

Change-Id: I77ae9a473dadce4e0f14d31e52ad2e7ad7ac6935
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/11128
Tested-by: Paul Taysom <taysom@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Luigi Semenzato <semenzato@chromium.org>
Commit-Ready: Paul Taysom <taysom@google.com>

2 years agoAdded top ten most frequent system calls by pid factory-1235.B release-R16-1193.B
Paul Taysom [Tue, 4 Oct 2011 16:06:24 +0000 (09:06 -0700)]
Added top ten most frequent system calls by pid

Keeps a history of the peak top ten system calls by pid.

BUG=chromium-os:21206
TEST=x86

Change-Id: I11169d3887b04a4eaa807298fdceaf0dd6d2008c
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/8733
Tested-by: Paul Taysom <taysom@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Luigi Semenzato <semenzato@chromium.org>
2 years agoFixes some of the bad data problems
Paul Taysom [Mon, 19 Sep 2011 23:14:16 +0000 (16:14 -0700)]
Fixes some of the bad data problems

Also has more support for plotting results.

BUG=chromium-os:14650
TEST=alex

Change-Id: I532c4c0027c9cd35711211a88d664a19cfb062a1
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/7954
Tested-by: Paul Taysom <taysom@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Luigi Semenzato <semenzato@chromium.org>
3 years agoHelp and compiler fixes that were missed. 0.14.811.B 0.15.877.B 780.B factory-1020.B factory-980.B firmware-881-u-boot-v1 firmware-u-boot-v1 release-1011.B test-982.B
Paul Taysom [Thu, 2 Jun 2011 17:02:27 +0000 (10:02 -0700)]
Help and compiler fixes that were missed.

BUG=14733,14974
TEST=ran on cr48 with -h

Change-Id: I2f0bd6513bc8a2c3a4d178bd84e8b844e777c152
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/1966
Tested-by: Paul Taysom <taysom@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Paul Taysom <taysom@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Taylor Hutt <thutt@chromium.org>
3 years agoAdded help to ktop 0.13.587.B
Paul Taysom [Wed, 25 May 2011 22:27:33 +0000 (15:27 -0700)]
Added help to ktop

BUG=14733
TEST=Displayed help on cr48

Change-Id: Ied410d6ac1cdc6b5ca6a7ed0322ad52fb1f0deca
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/1578
Reviewed-by: Taylor Hutt <thutt@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Paul Taysom <taysom@google.com>
3 years agoChanges suggested by Taylor Hutt 0.13.558.B
Paul Taysom [Thu, 12 May 2011 16:48:13 +0000 (09:48 -0700)]
Changes suggested by Taylor Hutt

Can not yet fully resolve the problem of kernel dependencies. I have
sent an email to Steven Rostedt to get clarification on the volatility
of ftrace.

Fixed a regression for cleaning up when finished.

BUG=14974
TEST=ran ktop on cr48

Change-Id: Ib0f534df9a4000c756eef4a4a2ed9802a7cdc03b
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/769
Reviewed-by: Taylor Hutt <thutt@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Paul Taysom <taysom@google.com>
3 years agoChanges for new compiler and kernel 0.13.509.B
Paul Taysom [Mon, 9 May 2011 17:40:19 +0000 (10:40 -0700)]
Changes for new compiler and kernel

1. New compiler, gcc-4.6, found code paths where variables were
not initialized.
2. The 38 kernel where the syscalls event control files resided
3. Changed the type ids for sys_enter and sys_exit

BUG=chromium-os:14974
TEST=ran ktop on cr48

Change-Id: I4498c1356c2fa5bd45c52bfa1f7d0a373836e2af
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.chromium.org/gerrit/554
Reviewed-by: Mandeep Singh Baines <msb@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Paul Taysom <taysom@google.com>
3 years agoEnhancements to ktop
Paul Taysom [Fri, 29 Apr 2011 17:09:23 +0000 (10:09 -0700)]
Enhancements to ktop

A number of enhancements that I'd made to ktop while working on
getting ktop into the developer environment.
1. Split the display into multiple screens
2. Average duration of system calls
3. File system calls broken out

BUG=13360
TEST=built using gmerge and ran on cr48

Change-Id: I465692365892716b0473610245ee1d7414dc0337

R=msb@chromium.org,semenzato@chromium.org,ups@chromium.org

Review URL: http://codereview.chromium.org/6893111

3 years agoGet correct name for ktop from $(PN)
Paul Taysom [Wed, 27 Apr 2011 23:18:04 +0000 (16:18 -0700)]
Get correct name for ktop from $(PN)

TEST=looked at build output
BUG=13360

Change-Id: I390b16b2ea9b2e652bdabd922613c31179143ced

R=msb@chromium.org,semenzato@chromium.org,ups@chromium.org

Review URL: http://codereview.chromium.org/6903087

3 years agoFixed recursive variable in Makefile
Paul Taysom [Tue, 26 Apr 2011 14:59:49 +0000 (07:59 -0700)]
Fixed recursive variable in Makefile

DEFECT=13360
TEST=compiled with "emerge-x86-mario ktop"

Change-Id: I76d877eac3cbb66fb334f3a4cb8f3fa1ef4ba1c6

Merge branch 'master' of ssh://gitrw.chromium.org:9222/ktop into ktop

Added missing makefile.

BUG=13360

Change-Id: Id60a7273762e764e33f120005f9db01cd86db249

Changes to kplot for ebuild

BUG=13360
TEST=compiled with emerge and ran on cr48

Change-Id: I585ea57b7b3b86abe6096f4eade724d5ea12ab9f

R=msb@chromium.org,semenzato@chromium.org,ups@chromium.org

Review URL: http://codereview.chromium.org/6880189

3 years agoChanges to kplot for ebuild 0.12.433.B 0.12.433.B109 0.12.433.B62 0.13.434.B
Paul Taysom [Thu, 14 Apr 2011 20:27:39 +0000 (13:27 -0700)]
Changes to kplot for ebuild

BUG=13360
TEST=compiled with emerge and ran on cr48

Change-Id: I585ea57b7b3b86abe6096f4eade724d5ea12ab9f

R=msb@chromium.org,semenzato@chromium.org,ups@chromium.org

Review URL: http://codereview.chromium.org/6850001

3 years agoinit repo 0.12.392.B
Paul Taysom [Wed, 6 Apr 2011 20:41:07 +0000 (13:41 -0700)]
init repo