chromiumos/third_party/laptop-mode-tools.git
3 years agoLowering hard drive idle timeout to 5 seconds from 20 seconds. 0.10.134.B 0.10.136.B 0.10.138.B 0.10.140.B 0.10.142.B 0.10.144.B 0.10.146.B 0.10.148.B 0.10.150.B 0.10.152.B 0.10.154.B 0.10.156.B 0.11.158.B 0.11.166.B 0.11.208.B 0.11.218.B 0.11.227.B 0.11.241.B 0.11.257.B 0.11.257.B90 0.12.362.B 0.12.369.B 0.12.392.B 0.12.433.B 0.12.433.B109 0.12.433.B62 0.13.434.B 0.9.114.B 0.9.116.B 0.9.118.B 0.9.120.B 0.9.122.B 0.9.124.B 0.9.126.B 0.9.128.B 0.9.130.B 0.9.132.B 11.1.241.B master 0.10.134.0 0.10.136.0 0.10.138.0 0.10.140.0 0.10.142.0 0.10.142.1 0.10.142.2 0.10.142.3 0.10.144.0 0.10.144.1 0.10.146.0 0.10.146.1 0.10.148.0 0.10.150.0 0.10.154.0 0.10.156.0 0.10.156.1 0.10.156.18 0.10.156.2 0.10.156.20 0.10.156.3 0.10.156.30 0.10.156.34 0.10.156.36 0.10.156.4 0.10.156.46 0.10.156.5 0.11.158.0 0.11.181.0 0.9.114.0 0.9.116.0 0.9.118.0 0.9.120.0 0.9.122.0 0.9.124.0 0.9.124.1 0.9.126.0 0.9.128.0 0.9.128.1 0.9.128.10 0.9.128.11 0.9.128.12 0.9.128.13 0.9.128.14 0.9.128.2 0.9.128.3 0.9.128.4 0.9.128.5 0.9.128.6 0.9.128.7 0.9.128.8 0.9.128.9 0.9.130.0 0.9.130.10 0.9.130.11 0.9.130.12 0.9.130.13 0.9.130.14 0.9.130.15 0.9.130.2 0.9.130.3 0.9.130.4 0.9.130.5 0.9.130.6 0.9.130.7 0.9.130.8 0.9.130.9
Sameer Nanda [Mon, 15 Nov 2010 21:38:40 +0000 (13:38 -0800)]
Lowering hard drive idle timeout to 5 seconds from 20 seconds.

This change saves about 200mW of power on SSDs.

Change-Id: I7a7dfdbd7e264386d21da673b1906460ecf1c307

BUG= chromium-os:9180
TEST= ran vmstat & hdparm to see when the last read/write to the disk
happened and when the drive transitioned to standby state.  With this
change in place, on battery the hard drive transitioned to standby
state 5 seconds after the last read/write.

Review URL: http://codereview.chromium.org/5032002

3 years agolaptop-mode accepts lists of devices and modules
Simon Que [Sat, 13 Nov 2010 00:56:56 +0000 (16:56 -0800)]
laptop-mode accepts lists of devices and modules

laptop-mode script now takes two more parameters, modules and devices.  These
specify which modules (scripts) to run, and which devices for which they should
be run.  If the modules parameter is not specified, all scripts will be run.

Examples:

$ ./laptop-mode modules="lcd-brightness usb-autosuspend"
Runs lcd-brightness and usb-autosuspend

$ ./laptop-mode modules="usb-autosuspend" devices="1-1 1-2 1-3"
Runs usb-autosuspend for 1-1, 1-2, and 1-3.

$ ./laptop-mode devices="/dev/sda /dev/sdb"
Runs all modules for /dev/sda and /dev/sdb.  CAUTION: this is not a realistic
example as not all scripts necessarily operate on /dev/sd*.  This example is
meant only to demonstrate syntax.

laptop-mode exports the device list as an environment variable, $DEVICES.  Each
module script can access this variable and use it.  However, those that have
not been modified will ignore it.

The behavior when no devices are specified is dependent on the behavior of each
script.  Scripts that have not been modified to accept the device list will
behave as they did before this patch.

This patch gives usb-autosuspend the capability to run over selected devices.
usb-autosuspend reads the $DEVICES list.  If the list is not defined,
usb-autosuspend will operate on all USB devices.

As of this patch, usb-autosuspend is the only module that uses the device list.

BUG=chromium-os:7912
TEST=Run with verbose messages enabled, passing in various combinations of
module and device lists.  Check output to verify.

Signed-off-by: Simon Que <sque@chromium.org>
Change-Id: I579f1850fd7123c0617499ea73190fdf4121595f

Review URL: http://codereview.chromium.org/4853002

3 years agolaptop-mode-tools: only log VERBOSE msgs to syslog when DEBUG is enabled 0.9.112.0 0.9.112.1
Sam Leffler [Wed, 10 Nov 2010 19:04:40 +0000 (11:04 -0800)]
laptop-mode-tools: only log VERBOSE msgs to syslog when DEBUG is enabled

VERBOSE msgs are almost universally useless but were being sent through
syslog where they were being tossed with our default config.  This
resulted in >600 context switches to just drop the log msgs.  Avoid
this overhead by making them condition on DEBUG.

BUG=8087
TEST=sh -x /usr/sbin/laptop_mode auto force and notice tons of logger calls

Review URL: http://codereview.chromium.org/4708005

Change-Id: I29357115a75a0ed1dab921c10e99403fc9163429

3 years agolaptop-mode-tools: switch wifi support to be nl80211-only
Sam Leffler [Wed, 10 Nov 2010 18:20:56 +0000 (10:20 -0800)]
laptop-mode-tools: switch wifi support to be nl80211-only

We support only nl80211 WiFi devices; no more WEXT support:
- remove old script that used iwconfig
- add new module script that uses iw to ena/dis power save

Note this also fixes wifi power save operation for nl80211 devices as the iwconfig code never worked right due to it checking the wrong file under /sys.  This means we should now have lower latency on AC because we'll turn off power save.

BUG=7138
TEST=gmerge to device; suspend+resume and check power save state of wlan0; also run sh -x laptop_mode auto force and verify the right things are happenig for wifi devices

Review URL: http://codereview.chromium.org/4675003

Change-Id: Ifac0b67c7eb6663fb911be267711c44e6e8538b0

3 years agolaptop-mode-tools: USB autosuspend ignores user input devices 0.9.100.B 0.9.102.B 0.9.104.B 0.9.106.B 0.9.108.B 0.9.110.B 0.9.75.B_factory 0.9.76.B 0.9.78.B 0.9.80.B 0.9.82.B 0.9.84.B 0.9.86.B 0.9.90.B 0.9.90.T 0.9.92.B 0.9.94.B 0.9.94.T 0.9.96.T 0.9.98.B 0.9.100.0 0.9.102.0 0.9.102.1 0.9.102.2 0.9.102.3 0.9.102.4 0.9.102.5 0.9.102.6 0.9.104.0 0.9.106.0 0.9.108.0 0.9.110.0 0.9.110.1 0.9.110.10 0.9.110.2 0.9.110.3 0.9.110.4 0.9.110.5 0.9.110.6 0.9.110.7 0.9.110.8 0.9.110.9 0.9.76.0 0.9.76.1 0.9.78.0 0.9.78.1 0.9.78.2 0.9.80.0 0.9.82.0 0.9.84.0 0.9.86.0 0.9.89.1 0.9.90.0 0.9.90.1 0.9.90.2 0.9.90.3 0.9.90.4 0.9.92.0 0.9.94.0 0.9.98.0 0.9.98.1 0.9.98.2 0.9.98.3 0.9.98.4
Simon Que [Sat, 2 Oct 2010 02:07:42 +0000 (19:07 -0700)]
laptop-mode-tools: USB autosuspend ignores user input devices

Human input devices (HIDs) like mice and keyboards cannot handle the
auto suspend properly.  This patch modifies the autosuspend script to
check for and ignore all HIDs when enabling auto suspend.

BUG=chromium-os:4534
TEST=verified that HID autosuspend files are not being written to while
non-HID autosuspend files are
Signed-off-by: Simon Que <sque@chromium.org>
Change-Id: If4a881a0efb3177697e1f4b4f15b8171c881f165

Review URL: http://codereview.chromium.org/3590005

4 years agolaptop-mode-tools: Add missing inherit-review-settings-ok file 0.7.48.B 0.7.50.B 0.7.52.B 0.7.54.B 0.8.56.B 0.8.58.B 0.8.60.B 0.8.62.B 0.8.62.B_factory 0.8.64.B 0.8.66.B 0.8.68.B 0.8.70.B 0.8.71.B_factory 0.8.72.B 0.9.74.B 0.7.48.0 0.7.50.0 0.7.52.0 0.7.52.1 0.7.54.0 0.7.54.1 0.8.56.0 0.8.58.0 0.8.60.0 0.8.60.1 0.8.60.10 0.8.60.12 0.8.60.2 0.8.60.3 0.8.60.4 0.8.60.5 0.8.60.6 0.8.60.7 0.8.60.8 0.8.60.9 0.8.62.0 0.8.64.0 0.8.66.0 0.8.66.1 0.8.66.2 0.8.68.0 0.8.68.1 0.8.68.2 0.8.68.4 0.8.68.5 0.8.70.0 0.8.70.1 0.8.70.2 0.8.70.3 0.8.70.4 0.8.70.5 0.8.70.6 0.8.70.7 0.8.70.8 0.8.72.0 0.8.72.1 0.8.72.2 0.8.72.3 0.8.72.4 0.9.74.0 0.9.74.1 0.9.74.2 0.9.74.3 0.9.74.4 0.9.74.5
Daniel Erat [Wed, 16 Jun 2010 15:48:19 +0000 (08:48 -0700)]
laptop-mode-tools: Add missing inherit-review-settings-ok file

BUG=none
TEST=none
TBR=anush

Review URL: http://codereview.chromium.org/2857006

4 years agoAdded WiFi power management support. Saves 0.3-0.8W at idle.
Sameer Nanda [Fri, 23 Apr 2010 00:16:47 +0000 (17:16 -0700)]
Added WiFi power management support. Saves 0.3-0.8W at idle.

Review URL: http://codereview.chromium.org/1769003

4 years agosend syslog msgs to local5 so they can go in a separate file
Sam Leffler [Fri, 16 Apr 2010 23:13:42 +0000 (16:13 -0700)]
send syslog msgs to local5 so they can go in a separate file

Review URL: http://codereview.chromium.org/1574036

4 years agoadd config knob to control syslog facility
Sam Leffler [Fri, 16 Apr 2010 23:03:52 +0000 (16:03 -0700)]
add config knob to control syslog facility

Review URL: http://codereview.chromium.org/1638015

4 years agoEnabled laptop mode power management control of:
Sameer Nanda [Fri, 26 Feb 2010 20:22:29 +0000 (12:22 -0800)]
Enabled laptop mode power management control of:
- HD
- SATA
- Audio
- USB

Review URL: http://codereview.chromium.org/661130

4 years agoAdding README.chromium and LICENSE files.
Sameer Nanda [Wed, 17 Feb 2010 00:24:26 +0000 (16:24 -0800)]
Adding README.chromium and LICENSE files.

4 years agoinitializing laptop-mode-tools repo
Sameer Nanda [Wed, 17 Feb 2010 00:16:46 +0000 (16:16 -0800)]
initializing laptop-mode-tools repo